Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

razorland 1 & 2 - ann aguirre

So this review is a bit late but here we go! Thought I would kill two birds with one stone and make my review including both books from Ann Aguirre’s trilogy, Razorland! Read one after the other and man did it draw me in! Okay let’s start with book 1 in the Razorland series, Enclave!

WELCOME TO THE APOCALYPSE

In Deuce’s world, people earn the right to a name only if they survive their first fifteen years. By that point, each unnamed ‘brat’ has trained into one of three groups–Breeders, Builders, or Hunters, identifiable by the number of scars they bear on their arms. Deuce has wanted to be a Huntress for as long as she can remember.

As a Huntress, her purpose is clear—to brave the dangerous tunnels outside the enclave and bring back meat to feed the group while evading ferocious monsters known as Freaks. She’s worked toward this goal her whole life, and nothing’s going to stop her, not even a beautiful, brooding Hunter named Fade. When the mysterious boy becomes her partner, Deuce’s troubles are just beginning.

Down below, deviation from the rules is punished swiftly and harshly, and Fade doesn’t like following orders. At first Deuce thinks he’s crazy, but as death stalks their sanctuary, and it becomes clear the elders don’t always know best, Deuce wonders if Fade might be telling the truth. Her partner confuses her; she’s never known a boy like him before, as prone to touching her gently as using his knives with feral grace.

As Deuce’s perception shifts, so does the balance in the constant battle for survival. The mindless Freaks, once considered a threat only due to their sheer numbers, show signs of cunning and strategy… but the elders refuse to heed any warnings. Despite imminent disaster, the enclave puts their faith in strictures and sacrifice instead. No matter how she tries, Deuce cannot stem the dark tide that carries her far from the only world she’s ever known

Now I didn’t really know what to expect from this book. I’ve seen it around my local bookstore whenever I go and something about the cover always had my eyes drawn back to it, as if there was something different about it than the rest. So I finally gave in and man did I make the right decision! In Enclave I found it was like a regular “zombie apocalypse” type read. Though not sure if the Freaks, as the characters call them, would be considered zombies… because I’m not entirely sure what they even are still ! Were they humans once or just some freaky creature? Makes me shudder whenever I think of them! The plot and setting were really well, took me a while though to understand where the enclave actually was underground and what Topside was… I feel stupid for how long it took me! Nearly until the end of the book! But I thought the setting was different as well as the plot in its own sort of way. Enclave is definitely a page turner!

Now let’s start with the characters. First of all the main character Deuce. Yes a weird name for a girl right? But the tradition behind that reminded me of Divergent right away with choosing Factions except this was different with getting a name picked? Anyways, I liked Deuce in this book because she wasn’t the helpless, sitting back type of main character I usually read about. I liked how this time she was the one going out there and making her own decisions, not really listening to anyone else and the fact that she could fight! And by fight I mean she can fight really good! I loved the fact that she was Huntress, and she could defend for herself, but when Fade came into the picture I fell in love! Fade is the typical mysterious, bad boy girls just swoon over! Fade just was the whole package when I saw how he can fight so well, be a Hunter, mysterious and at the same time have his gentle side and caring (especially when Deuce came into his life *wink wink*). These two together make such an amazing pair! Them being partners? best idea ever! As for the other characters like the friends in the Enclave didn’t really do it for me because there was something about each of them I didn’t like, and I can’t really go into detail without giving away too much! But man did I want to hit them so many times and knock some sense into them! For Stalker…. I did not like him in Enclave at ALL. When you read you will understand… And Tegan.. well… her character didn’t really stand out to me as much. There just isn’t anything I can say about her character because I felt like she was just.. there.. But I don’t know if that’s just me!

Time to move onto Outpost, book two in the Razorland series!

Deuce’s whole world has changed.

Down below, she was considered an adult. Now, topside in a town called Salvation, she’s a brat in need of training in the eyes of the townsfolk. She doesn’t fit in with the other girls: Deuce only knows how to fight.

To make matters worse, her Hunter partner, Fade, keeps Deuce at a distance. Her feelings for Fade haven’t changed, but he seems not to want her around anymore. Confused and lonely, she starts looking for a way out.

Deuce signs up to serve in the summer patrols—those who make sure the planters can work the fields without danger. It should be routine, but things have been changing on the surface, just as they did below ground. The Freaks have grown smarter. They’re watching. Waiting. Planning. The monsters don’t intend to let Salvation survive, and it may take a girl like Deuce to turn back the tide.

Unlike Enclave I found Outpost didn’t have as much… appeal to it. It was still a  bit of a page turner but nothing like Enclave. With Enclave I found myself continuing to read, turning page after page until I realizes what I was doing and even then I never stopped! But with Outpost I found myself reading a few pages, taking long long breaks, finishing the chapter then taking another break! At certain points I was turning page after page but I always wanted to take a break from it. I just wanted to be done. But I think it was due to the fact of the setting and that there was barely any action or that suspense from the first book wondering when the Freaks would pop up. Because they were in Salvation, there was nothing really for them to do! reading about the life they were adjusting to Outpost had me a bit bored. Who really wants to read about them doing chores and school? I’m pretty sure no one.

Now the characters. I loved Deuce in the first book but in Outpost… I felt like she lost a bit of that bad girl attitude, fighter she had. She was losing a bit of her edge from being in Salvation. When it came to Fade and Stalker I really didn’t like what she was doing but then she got it together and made things clear of what she felt and with that I was happy. And I am NOT a fan of love triangles, absolutely hate them. Fade… loved him in the beginning but by the end I was so frustrated with him! I wanted to strangle him over and over. I just couldn’t deal with it. It was like Deuce and Fade switched roles by how I loved Fade in the beginning and not so much Deuce and in the end I loved Deuce again but not really Fade. Sure I can understand Fade’s situation and who wouldn’t be like that but come on dude, take it like a man! So frustrating! Stalker I felt like I understand him a way lot more in Outpost and I actually grew to like him a bit, as for Tegan not so much. for majority of the book I just didn’t even want to deal with her character but by the end I guess by her decision I kind of grew to tolerate her, but not really liking her yet.

All in all I felt like Outpost was really slow majority of the book but the ending did have that magic like the first book did. Regardless of the setting and the boring aspects I still give Outpost a rating of 5 stars like Enclave because I still did enjoy going through the journey with the characters and seeing them develop in a way? Just hoping with the setting of the Horde being a bit like Enclave again it will regain it’s magic and be a page turner well into the night!

