Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been a bit behind in making reviews, been so busy trying to catch up on my TBR pile and reading as many books as I can! But I will be catching up on my reviews today 🙂 So let’s start with Taken by Erin Bowman!

Taken

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends…and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side?

So I will start by saying that this book was not the way I expected it to be. Of course it was as good as I expected, just not so much the story line. I loved the whole concept of this, with the Heist and going over the Wall and such. How the story line got turned around and the background story behind the Heist, well…  Was not expecting that at all! Which is what I’m kind of glad about. I like how books can surprise me with how the story is going instead of being predictable like some. Makes it even more better!

The world building made sense in a way but there were tiny pieces in which I didn’t fully understand what was being described when it came to being over the Wall and what lay beyond. It wasn’t so much that I couldn’t picture it, but just.. I don’t know how to describe it, small details that would be missed. It can’t really be seen as a dystopian world because it still seemed like how it is now but.. different with there being a Wall and such and not really any buildings.

As for the characters… I really liked a few of them, not so much the rest. Gray’s character was okay for me, there were times where I really liked him and others when I was not so much impressed and just kept reading without feeling his character. It was a roller coaster of feelings actually. For Emma.. I didn’t really like her character. In the beginning she was so cold to Gray.. and then that changed right after Gray’s brother was Heisted when he turned eighteen. I didn’t know how to feel about that, I kind of felt like she didn’t really care as much as Gray. And then what she did after!! I wanted to hurt her myself and was surprised to see Gray still wanting her.. NO! I was rooting for Gray and Bree. I liked Bree’s character so much more than Emma’s. When I started noticing a little something something between Bree and Gray I was totally rooting for them but of course Emma gets in the way.. Not sure how everyone else feels but well… yeah.

Overall I enjoyed Taken, but here and there I was a bit un-impressed by the characters, but other than that it was a good read!

