Tags

, , , , , , ,

*SPOILERS*

The Selection

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

This series has been on my TBR pile for ages and only recently said “what the hell why not?” I was a little hesitant because I heard so much great things about it and I didn’t want to be disappointed. But all I can do is shake my head and regret not reading this sooner! This book lived up to its expectations BIG time. What surprised me was that even before I knew I loved it, I already did! I was flipped through the pages so fast that I finished within a day! I was so surprised by this because I didn’t realize how addicted I became to this book.

What kept me reading was the one and only Prince Maxon. From the beginning I was about Aspen because he seemed so nice and loving towards America when it was just them two and no worries about the whole Selection business. But then he goes and breaks her heart, which he then regrets but by then it’s too late and BAM Prince Maxon comes into the picture. What I really liked was the fact that it wasn’t love at first sight. It was actually hate at first sight for America and amusement at first sight for Maxon. I liked seeing the romance grow slowly until they both realized that it was more they were feeling. What made it better was that there was so Aspen there the whole time to prevent America for feelings anything towards Maxon. Sure she had thoughts of him still but eventually she let loose and allowed Maxon in! SQUEE! The little moments between Maxon and America are the cutest things ever, I was jumping for joy every time I read about them together. And every time Aspen was mentioned or thought of or actually APPEARED I kept hoping he was leave or die so he was out of the picture. I really hate love triangles I really do. By this point I was so set on shipping Maxon and America I just wanted nothing to do with Aspen because he kept ruining it! Sadly this book by the end was indeed a love triangle because all three were present in the palace and I got sad. I didn’t know what to make of this whole Bachelor type book, but it was like nothing I’ve read before and was so entertaining to read!

As for the main character, America Singer? I loved her character. She was so much herself in this one, so strong and sure of what she wanted and nothing could change that. Hence why it was hate for Maxon in the beginning. She’s rational and smart and just a great character. She made the plot what it was, gave a sense of the environment around her that I could actually feel like I was experiencing it along with her. I LOVED the Selection so much, but for the Elite I was a bit disappointed.

The Elite

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Timesbestseller The Selection.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

After the Selection I dived straight into the Elite to get more of Maxon and America together. I loved them so much at this point that I eagerly waited the moments when they were together! But with Aspen finally in the picture things of course changed! Thus making America change as well which annoyed me.

I didn’t like  how one minute she’s all about Maxon and how she wants to choose him and dreams of it but then right when he’s gone and Aspen is there? It’s all about him and how it’s always been him. Really? I especially didn’t like how she would meet with Aspen secretly and there would be kissing, and promises of being together in the end but at the same time she wants Maxon… Yes that makes complete sense. And THEN when she sees Maxon with other girls she gets so jealous and thinks “oh he said it was me so why is he with the other girls” but .. it’s the Selection he’s supposed to spend time with the other girls, HELLO?! And when she sees Maxon with one of the girls she hates she yells at him and says everything is over? That’s a hypocrite move because she’s been seeing Aspen the whole time and Maxon didn’t even know.. HE DIDN’T KNOW yet she knew all the girls there with him.. America you’re making no sense!

So with America changing her mind every second about which boy she wants, what also upset me was the fact that she cried over everything. When I say everything I mean everything. What happened to the strong, determined girl from the first book? Now just because you love two guys it will make you this weak, pathetic girl? Get yourself together! I also rooted for Maxon, he’s always so nice and caring and wants to do ANYTHING to make America happy but she keeps pushing him away so I don’t blame him for wanting comfort from the other girls! The one girl he wants and always did pushes him away every time he tries to get close to her, and at the same time she’s sneaking behind his back with Aspen which by the way he has no idea about! Sure he was honest most of the time, and sometimes not, but America didn’t give him a break at all when she had lied the whole time as well. I was disappointed in how she acted in this book, but I still loved the Elite all the same. I was still flipping through page after page until I finished within a day again.

The ending I was satisfied with. The America I loved from the first book started coming back. Her determination and goals were shown by the end and she finally, FINALLY, after all this time decided who she wanted (Maxon, SQUEE!) and is actually going to take action and fight for him! She’s not backing down now and I can’t wait to see how things will play out in The One! I’m dying to know that she ends up with Maxon! She better not be going back on her choice and think of Aspen again when he appears or even apologizes! If she does I will be disappoint once again.

I love this series so much and I will miss it SO much when it is over. I want more Prince Maxon! I just want him for myself but America already has it, sad life! But it’s okay as long as they’re together I’ll be happy! Until next year to find out the ending of America’s decision and the Selection! ❤

