Tags

, , , ,

The Ward

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

So this book I had a LOT of mixed feelings. Once again I was hesitant about this one. I checked reviews by other people and some say they loved it some..not so much. I didn’t know what I was getting into until reading. First off, I was very confused on how the whole racing thing worked. The description of the racing mobiles didn’t make much sense to me. All I understood was that these cars or whatever were racing on buildings. What I didn’t get was the concept; were they able to race on the side of the building? Was it just the roof? What about the ones that are in the water? I don’t know being confused threw me off and it was hard for me to fall in the love with the book.

The beginning didn’t capture my attention. I found myself very bored and actually dreading to continue reading. But I pushed through and eventually somewhere in the middle I got interested in the story (FINALLY). But this interest didn’t last very long. By the end I just wanted to be done it so I could move on to something better. Again I found myself confused in the racing description and what actually happened so I can’t really explain that if someone asked me. The ending did not leave me wanting the next book like so many books do. This “cliffhanger” did not really surprise me or give me any feelings. I was basically thinking “oh okay kind of expected that.. New book time!”

I’m not saying I entirely hate this book. It definitely had it’s moments where I enjoyed reading it and kept going but… it wasn’t something I love or would obsess over. And what also got to me was the lack of romance. Sure romance isn’t always necessary but in this one it just annoyed me because it was all about a girl obsessed over a guy who never bothered to look at her but then ended up being immortal, and married, and after one kiss says it felt like it could be love? No. You don’t get to be married and immortal and finally say you care about the girl. I was rooting for the smart, nice, doctor guy Callum but of course no one paid him any attention when he actually deserved it! I just hope in the second book Ren can actually notice he’s a good guy to be with and Derek shouldn’t even be an option after everything he’s done. In the end I was disappointed by this book. I hoped I would love it but it just wasn’t up there with the other awesome books I read. This makes me feel bad considering it’s Frankel’s debut novel!

 

